Hardware for first Hyperion, Advice needed

• Hello!

Im looking at building a Hyperion setup for a 65" TV and after several days of research I've hit something of a brick-wall and could use some expert advice on choosing the correct hardware in order to make this as painless (and awesome :) ) as possible. I will confess I'm far from an expert in these matters so advice would be appreciated.

To give an idea of by build, the source is going to be an nVidia Shield (running Kodi) or (preferably?) using the second HDMI out on a amplifier (using a HDMI>Analog converter).

Reading up, it seems that APA102 LED's are the preferred option due to build quality and ease of integration with a RaspPi, I've found a option in my price range that is 60LED/m
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/pr…smid=A104DYTN77JRUS&psc=1

But I have concerns on powering approx 5m of the strip to fit the TV in question will require quite high amperage, around 20amps?, there is another option on the same strip at 30LED which would make powering lot simpler but I'm unsure if the reduced density would be noticeable.

For the higher amperage, I am unsure what type of connectors I would need for the interlinks (between the LED strips), cable gauge etc, Im a little worried about my house burning down :p

I was looking at these connectors/cables/psu as an option for the 30LED strips, but unsure if they would be safe for the 60 variant:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/pr…smid=A357KU1OITB325&psc=1 - 20am PSU (Its pretty.. industrial looking..)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/pr…smid=A15CV0JLY2L4YT&psc=1 - "Solderless connectors"

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/pr…smid=A25GI8AK4G3KQ2&psc=1 - General purpose wire.

I am very open to alternative options, including using other hardware rather than a RaspPi (e.g. NodeMCU/ESP devices) if that will provide a better/simpler option.

I know this is a bit of a screed, but again any advice would be appericated

Thanks!

• Hi Slyboots!