LEDs messing up when using more than 62

• Hi guys,

I've been running an ambilight system for 2 years, until it stopped working and now I'm struggeling to get it working again. :(

My system:

- Raspberry Pi 1 B with OSMC
    - Level converter from Lightberry (Arduino connected to the Raspbery Pi by USB cable)
    - WS2801 light strip with 114 LEDs in use
    - Grabber and stuff
    - Three Power supplies (level converter + light strip / Raspberry Pi / USB hub)

After replacing the level converter by a new one, the system is basically working again but with some flaws (described below) that I dont get extinguished. :(
    This behavior can be observed when running the "rainbow swirl" effect from hyperion, so it's definitely not the grabbers fault.
    I've already replaced the Raspberry Pi 1 (with a Raspberry Pi 3), the level converter (with yet another one) and the USB hub, but the behavior didn't change.
    So I assume that the light strip might be damaged as well.

Behavior:

When using 62 LEDs at max:
    - The LEDs basically do what they are supposed to do.
    - Every now and then (not that often) all LEDs seem to be flashing in a bright color for one update cycle.

When using more than 62 LEDs (lets say 62 + x):
    - The last x LEDs will get their color information irregularly
    - The beginning if the light strip will be flashing, because the color information of the last x LEDs will be shown there
    - Most of the time, the the very first x LEDs will receive that incorrect color information, but it can also be displaced (by up to ~20, what I observed)

- Drastically reducing the update rate (to 2 fps) does't affect the problem (but the flashing will be slowed down with the update rate)
    - When removing the Raspberry Pi from the system, all LEDs hold their color perfectly fine

Questions:

Does anybody have an idea, what's going wrong?
    Is there a possible reason why LEDs with index >= 62 are having problems? (Is it because it's close to 64?).