LEDs not Reacting when Starting Hyperion

• Hello!

Thanks for any help you might be able to provide me.

I'm fairly new to the Raspberry Pi and very new to working with LEDs and electrical wiring like this. My girlfriend actually bought me the parts for this project for Christmas, but I haven't been able to get it working. I've looked through the tutorial posted here. I have also used the YouTube video made by GreatScott as a guide for myself.

I have everything wired up behind the TV, OSMC installed on my Raspberry Pi 3 Model B, and Hyperion configured to match my setup. My problem is when I finally get the config sent over to the Pi through SSH and select Start the LEDs don't react - nothing happens.

I have this setup to use my Chromecast as the display (thus why all the extra hardware) that the LEDs will react to. Of course I have tried this with the internal display grabber to no avail as well.

I have everything already setup and hooked up (I think correctly). I used the extra jumper cables to solder the LEDs together as well as hooked them up into the DC adapter to power the LEDs (not sure if that is where I went wrong?)

The wiring is hooked up as the tutorial shows:

I don't receive any errors from the SSH log in Hyperion when I send the config or set it up at all.

I hope this information is enough to help me figure out why my LEDs won't turn on when I select Start in Hyperion.

• personal experience: can you try it first with raspbian, and if its not working on raspbian please do the spi-test
    https://www.raspberrypi.org/do…README.md#troubleshooting

Thanks for the reply!

I actually originally had Raspbian installed but it did not work. I installed OSMC because that's what the guide that I linked to was setting up. I will try again with Raspbian and run the spi-test when I'm home in about five hours.

• Maybe start smaller...