1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RPi + LibreELEC no grabber image

Discussion in 'Software Support' started by Rob Neeson, 27 December 2018.

  1. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino

    Sorry missed that.

    done now



    exactly the same outcome no control no colors

     
  2. b1rdhous3

    b1rdhous3 Member Developer

    Messages:
    70
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi3, 32/64bit, +PhilipsHue
    In Line 10 of your Arduino Sketch you said

    #define DATA_PIN 10

    change that to

    #define DATA_PIN 6

    since you have connected your LEDs to PIN 6.
     
  3. Akriss

    Akriss Active Member

    Messages:
    462
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, 32/64bit, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    First thing to do is establish the connection between the leds and the uno \.

    When powering on the Uno via usb and the leds are attached and powered separately, as in the fritzing image above. The leds Should blink 3 time then power off. Need to make that happen before another step.
     
  4. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino

    I changed it back to pin 10.

    The leds do blink 3 times
     
  5. Akriss

    Akriss Active Member

    Messages:
    462
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, 32/64bit, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    Good.

    Make sure what usb port the Uno is on. You have "/dev/ttyACM0" its could be "/dev/ttyUSB0"

    Make sure with :
    Code:
    dmesg | grep usb
    once without the Uno attached and then with the Uno attached. you well notice the port its on.

    Then use hypercon to craft and upload the config file.

    If all go's well the leds should shine the startup effect upon Hyperion's startup.
     
  6. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino
    What does that tell u ?

    http://i1273.photobucket.com/albums/y409/Robbie_Neeson/P_20190103_202137_vHDR_On_zps6mqr9lyx.jpg
     
  7. Akriss

    Akriss Active Member

    Messages:
    462
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, 32/64bit, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    Hmm. thought that command would show more.

    Well, try both ttyACM0 and ttyUSB0. One is likely correct, one is not. process of elimination.

    Restart Hyperion after making changes. One setting well make leds shine the startup. Hopefully =).
     
  8. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino


    Success

    Kinda



    i have control of the leds now as far as turning them on & off via hyperion ( still no app control ).

    They flash on once ot twice on 1 color then flash like mad on all colors for 10 secs
     
  9. Akriss

    Akriss Active Member

    Messages:
    462
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, 32/64bit, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    Change the rate in config from:
    Code:
    ssh in:     Jan 03 19:56:00 raspberrypi hyperiond[1583]:         "rate" : 100000,
    To 500000, or match what is in the sketch for:
    Code:
    #define serialRate 
     
  10. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino


    this is in sketch

    #define serialRate 500000

    its the same rate in the hypercon program

    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: "colorOrder" : "bgr",
    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: "delayAfterConnect" : 0,
    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: "name" : "MyHyperionConfig",
    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: "output" : "/dev/ttyACM0",
    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: "rate" : 500000,
    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: "type" : "adalight"
    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: }
    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: Opening UART: /dev/ttyACM0
    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: INFO: Creating linear smoothing
    ssh in: Jan 03 20:30:10 raspberrypi hyperiond[851]: HYPERION (CS) INFO: Created
     
    Last edited: 3 January 2019
  11. Akriss

    Akriss Active Member

    Messages:
    462
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, 32/64bit, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    Hmm. last post has 100000 in the log.

    Ok then you need a resistor on the data line between the Uno and led's. A value between 330 to 470 ohm's usually works good.

    That should calm the led's and show nice effects.
     
  12. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino

    Sorry that was because i was messing around with it & forgot to change it.

    Ok, next problem i have is the usb grabber when taking a screenshot locks hypercon up ?
     
  13. Akriss

    Akriss Active Member

    Messages:
    462
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, 32/64bit, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    Hyperion needs to be shutdown prior the taking screenshot.

    I sure that's detailed in the wiki.
     
  14. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino

    Have tried that .

    shutdown via program & ssh

    [email protected]:~ $ sudo systemctl stop service.hyperion.service
    Failed to stop service.hyperion.service: Unit service.hyperion.service not loaded.


    both ways lock it up
     
  15. Akriss

    Akriss Active Member

    Messages:
    462
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, 32/64bit, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    How about from command line, with:
    Code:
    hyperion-v4l2 --screenshot
    ?
     
  16. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino

    Ok , managed to get a screenshot & ftp into rasp & grab this from my pc[​IMG]

    Does this have something to do with the black border threshold %ç


    i read this & set mine to 16% as suggested

    https://hyperion-project.org/wiki/Blackborder-Detection-Threshold

    still no lights

     
    Last edited: 4 January 2019
  17. Akriss

    Akriss Active Member

    Messages:
    462
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, 32/64bit, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    ??
    ??

    So you have the resistor in place now?

    I think your grabber Is faulty.
    just a guess.
     
  18. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino

    No resistor , but would that stop the lights ?

    even if it took a screen shot U still think its faulty ?
    It is a new one

    Yoy maybe right , i cant get it to take another screenshot now
     
    Last edited: 4 January 2019
  19. Akriss

    Akriss Active Member

    Messages:
    462
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, 32/64bit, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    Post your currant config file.
     
  20. Rob Neeson

    Rob Neeson Member

    Messages:
    37
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino


    Config




    The screenshots works very intermittently , on 1 boot they work on another they dont


    every time i try to screenshot i get null device, is that correct


    ssh out: sudo systemctl stop hyperion.service 2>/dev/null; sudo /etc/init.d/hyperion stop 2>/dev/null ; sudo /sbin/initctl stop hyperion 2>/dev/null
    ssh disconnected
    ssh connected
    ssh out: sudo systemctl stop hyperion.service 2>/dev/null; sudo /etc/init.d/hyperion stop 2>/dev/null ; sudo /sbin/initctl stop hyperion 2>/dev/null
     
    Last edited: 4 January 2019