How to power LEDs for 85 inch TV

• Hi, newbie here that is intending to make a DIY ambilight for my 85 inch tv. The perimeter is about 6.2m so I plan to buy 2 X 5m LED strips with 60LEDs per metre. I estimate this might draw about 15A power, what is the easiest way to power such a long strip? I read something on the forum about someone feeding power into each of the 4 corners of the TV and using a distribution block but this sounds quite complicated. Is there an easier way to power a long LED strip? Thanks in advance

• i was online just now and read your story.

power from both sides > begin and end

if you don't have to cut the ledstrip in parts then power from both sides above 100 leds is the way to go. ( leave it in one piece and only shorten it at the end)

VCC > VCC +5volts / and GND to GND

your setup of 6.2 meter will draw at maximum brigtness 372 leds x 0.049 amps = 18 Amps

so if you want to connect the strip and more to it you come a little short with only 15 Amps

you need a PSU of 100 watts or 20 Amps to run this much lights

• Hi,

6.2 meters @ 60 LEDs/m are ~ 372 LEDs x 0.06 A = 22.32 Amps max.

I would feed in at the beginning, end and at every corner, but at least after every meter. The voltage drop at such high currents should not be underestimated. Which LEDs do you want to buy?

Grüße aus Österreich / Greetings from Austria !

- Don't wanna miss it anymore !

Einmal editiert, zuletzt von Mike72 ()

• I'm very new so not sure which LEDs to get either. A friend of mine who has completed a smaller project for his monitor told me to get ws2812b since he reckons 3 wire strips are easier. Yet the forum on this website suggests 4 wire strips like the apa102.

Also where do i get a 5v 20A power supply? I'm in Australia and plan to buy on aliexpress but can't find anything over 10A

Thanks again for your help

• Ambientheater77: I know, each datasheet says something different values... :/