2nd set of ws2812B LEDs. Still cant get ANYTHING to light.

• Hi All,

I'm attempting a Hyperion setup. The Phillips plasma TV with Ambilight we bought in 2007 finally went out. So, when we shopped for a replacement, I told my wife I wanted to add a DIY Ambilight. I'm no expert with the Pi. But, I previously had Kodi and MAME/Game system emulation on a Pi2. I am quite comfortable with building electronics projects.

I'm on my second set of ws2812B LEDs for this project. I can't get either set to work.

I bought the second set thinking I got a bad one the first time around. I'll likely try using the first set at a later date on the virtual pinball table I built. (Too many projects - hence my username)

Screen capture appears to be works. I can see it in the Hyperion GUI when accessing through the Wifi xxx:8090 port.

I have a 5v/10A running both Pi3 and LEDs. But, I've tried powering Pi separately as well.

I've added a 25v/1000uf cap at the barrel Jack connector. This was mentioned in a YT video I watched. I figured that it couldn't hurt. I have NOT tried the optional 470 ohm resistor or Logic Level board on the data line (yet). LED Data connected to GPIO18. Barrel Jack negative is linked to GND (Pi pin6).

No errors or warnings shown in log file.

Suggestions please?

• Hey DIY, for anyone to answer this properly, we need more information

hardware

software

how setting up, what gpio pins are you using etc.

But a shot in the dark, you are using hyperbian alpha 10 on a pi with your LED on ws281X. If so there is a work around to this. Also a rookie error is not grounding your pi gpio and leds together (LED won't work without it)

• Yes, I'm using a Pi3 running HyperBian v2_alpha10

https://github.com/hyperion-pr…an/releases/tag/HyperBian