LED Strip strange behaviour

• Hello everyone,

I'm working on Hyperion project for my TV. I've watched quite few youtube tutorials but ended up following this one. I did modify it tho so that may or may not be the problem. I have little to no experience in such projects so I might not explain it very well.

So, my setup includes:

• Raspberry Pi Zero 2 W
    • Around WS28212B LEDs
    • Some cheap Rullz 4K 60Hz HDMI capture card
    • 5V / 18A Power supply

So what I've done is basically install HyperBian to 8GB SD card, configured it (not without issues, as Raspberry Pi didn't turn on for couple hours) and connected everything.

I was hoping that my power supply will be able to power all the devices, so for now I have Pi and LEDs connected to it.

Now my problem is that LEDs do not react to Hyperion at all.

Some strange behaviours are occuring tho.

As soon as I power on the power supply first LED lights up to bright white. Actually on many LEDs i can see light on all channels, very dim but they are on. When I cut the power LED strip blinks red for a second and goes black. So I assume LEDs do work.

I though that maybe its a problem with data connection so I tested it and Electric meter shows that signal gets from Pi to LED strip. Voltage is correct as I tested it also.

Another, even weirder behavior is when I plug my HDMI card via USB > Micro Usb to Pi.

So as I was testing everything I could think of I unplugged LEDs from power supply, leaving only ground and data connection to Pi (directly to GPIO not to the power supply). I power HDMI card via some old charger, and suddenly all od LEDs lit up bright red. I don't understand it at all.