AtmoOrb does not work using Hyperion.ng

• I have been using Hyperion for about eight years now on a Pi 2, which controlled an APA102 strip, one AtmoOrb, and some Hue lamps. It has been working flawlessly ever since. Now I decided to give Hyperion.ng a go (using 2.0.13 at the moment) and have some problems. While the Hue lamps work, the Orb does not.

The AtmoOrb is discovered automatically using the wizard, but Hyperion is unable to control it, the LEDs just stay dark. Using the Windows AtmoOrbApp it works without problems however using the following settings.

This is my old config (before upgrading to ng), which also worked:

These are my current settings for the orb in Hyperion.ng:

Code
    [
      {
        "hmax": 1,
        "hmin": 0.6,
        "vmax": 1,
        "vmin": 0
      }
    ]

I cannot seem to find any problems with this config. Also checked the logs, which did not show problems. Anything else I can try to make the orb work?

• Offizieller Beitrag

manzel I did a fresh compile and upload of the AtmoOrb sketch my my ESP8266 with the default multicast group (239.255.255.250), as well as with yours (239.15.18.2).
    Both groups work even over PowerLAN (which sometime is a problem for multicast).

Any chance to show the debug output via a serial device of your AtmoOrb (sketch to be build be debug on)?

There you could see, if the ESP receives the Color updates
    Sample:

You could also see what is reported during discovery and identification:

Did you validate that the LEDs are connected to the correct data PIN in line with the compiled sketch?

Edit: You might also install Hyperion on your Windows PC and see, if it is working there (similar to the other test tool). Then you could ring-fence the issue hopefully.

• Thanks a lot for investigating. My AtmoOrb is not built with an ESP, but a Particle Photon. Had to do quite some digging to get the desired log output, but managed in the end.