Beginner problems -- LED strip failure?

• Dear Hyperion Community,

I am a beginner in the Raspberry Pi / RGB Backlighting world, so please forgive me for any important details I might omit by accident :)

I followed this tutorial (

Externer Inhalt www.youtube.com
    Inhalte von externen Seiten werden ohne Ihre Zustimmung nicht automatisch geladen und angezeigt.
    Durch die Aktivierung der externen Inhalte erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt werden. Mehr Informationen dazu haben wir in unserer Datenschutzerklärung zur Verfügung gestellt.
    // http://powerpi.de/atemberauben…rry-pi-2-tutorial-teil-1/) to build my own Backlight for my TV. After first setting it up, the system worked as expected for a few months without major hickups. Then it broke down: At startup, the whole set of LEDs light up (e.g. during the rainbow swirl startup sequence) and then I am able to use the Hyperion Software to set the LEDs to a certain color without problems. After a few seconds to minutes however, only the first two LEDs responded to any other incoming signals - the others kept the color they had at the time. When restarting, all LEDs can get manual signals for a few seconds to minutes again before the same thing happens.

Additionally, the LEDs only respond to manual signals I send via HyperCon/SSH to my Pi and not to signals coming from my split HDMI signal (also not only the first two ones).

Since I presumed it was a failure in the LED strip, I replaced the first of the four LED strips. However, now I have the same problem, just in the next LED strip - it works for a few minutes to manually give signals to the LED strips before the signal doesn't change anymore after a certain LED (reproducible, its always the same LED). Also, the signal from the USB Video Grabber still does not change the LED colors, even during the first few minutes when everything seems to work fine.