Problem getting ambilight to work

• Hello,

Incredible noob here, never tried anything like this but am willing to learn with help of tutorials.

I have been trying to get my WS2812b LED's to work like ambilight on my tv. I have been following multiple tutorials on the internet but can't get it to work. I have started to follow this tutorial: https://hyperion-project.org/t…-ws2801-ws2812b-apa102.8/

I started in August 2020 and needed to wait untill I have all the hardware. Now I have everything I need but the link above doesn't work anymore and can't complete this tutorial.

I have also followed:

https://forum.team-mediaportal…01-ws2812b-apa102.128526/

this link and the site/files from Christian Moser

The main problem now is when I list my connected USB devices using SSH through PUTTY it won't recognize my videograbber in the way it is described in the Christian Moser files. When I power everything on I see the boot sequence (LED’s flashing red-green-blue) but after that nothing happens. I see the OpenElec logo after which it goes black (as it is supposed to I guess since according to the tutorial OpenElec auto-shutsdown because I don’t need it)

The hardware I own is:

- Mibox 4

- Raspberry pi zero

- Lightbox dream color (https://tinyurl.com/y53d594y), which is, as far as i know, an pre-programmed arduino

- 4.5m WS2812b LED lights

- Video grabber with on the chip: UTV007

- HDMI splitter

- HDMI to AV box

- USB hub

- USB to ethernet to get internet on my Pi Zero

- HDMI cables

I have set the hardware above up according to the tutorials. And am using OpenElec

So the main problem right now is:

- why does my Pi not recognize the video grabber

- Is the lightbox dream color indeed a well programmed arduino

- Can I re-acces the first hyperion link since that was the best tutorial so far which I started but now cannot finish.

If needed I ofcourse can provide any SSH data if necessary.

Kind regards in advance!

• Offizieller Beitrag