Random information requests to help me start planning...

• So I'm just getting started and have some things I'd like to ask if anyone with more experience (not a hard ask there) could toss an opinion or two at me. I stared at the forum search function and honestly wasn't even sure what to search for, so please excuse if this has all been answered. I'm not looking for anything in depth, just maybe a, "No you are crazy, that's impossible!" or maybe a, "Well maybe that would work." Basically I don't want to put anybody out, just need direction.

Questions:

• What other things can I do with the Raspberry Pi once Hyperion is doing it's thing? Do I need to keep it just running Hyperion or can I use it for things like Kodi or whatever at the same time?
    • Can I use that same Pi to control other lighting around the apartment? Or do I need multiple Pi's for stuff like that?
    • Can I just leave the Pi running quietly forever and not worry with on/off functions?

Thanks for any assistance! Like I said I'm a total noob, and just trying to figure out what direction to take and plan my project (and extremely limited funds) efficiently. I'll explain my overall idea below if anyone cares.