Rapidly flickering LEDs

• Hey folks,

I searched and found a couple of posts about similar issues, but the fixes there didn't quite work for me, so figured I'd ask here. Please excuse any mistakes in my language, I'm no electrician (which may very soon become apparent)

I put together a new setup this week, using a set of SK9822 lines, which I read on here are compatible with Hyperion, and a Pi B+. I'm using a 5v, 8A psu, which I have wired into a barrel jack, which is powering both ends of the strip. 1 GRD and 2 data wires from the strip are plugged into the pi, 1 power and 1 grd from each end are plugged into the PSU. There is another "spare" 5v power wire I have not plugged into either the Pi or the PSU but I'll get to that in a sec.

My issue is that at certain kinds of color and light, the LEDs will go completely ape, flickering like mad all different colors and luminosity. This issue happens basically randomly, but some kinds of light are clearly more likely to trigger the effect. The one thing that appears to solve the issue is hooking that "spare" 5v into the Pi, but that also causes the pi to overheat and crash it seems, and also stops me being able to manually shut off the lights without also unplugging the pi.

Here is my Hypercon json
    [MEDIA=pastebin]fGL9xuB0[/MEDIA]

And here's a video I shot of the issue - seizure warning!

Externer Inhalt www.youtube.com
    Inhalte von externen Seiten werden ohne Ihre Zustimmung nicht automatisch geladen und angezeigt.
    Durch die Aktivierung der externen Inhalte erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt werden. Mehr Informationen dazu haben wir in unserer Datenschutzerklärung zur Verfügung gestellt.
    - Front
    Externer Inhalt www.youtube.com
    Inhalte von externen Seiten werden ohne Ihre Zustimmung nicht automatisch geladen und angezeigt.