Trigger light effect from another pi

• I am attempting to trigger the lights running on a pi from another pi. As an avid hockey fan i created my own version of the goal lights (similar to police light effect). I want the lights to be triggered automatically similar to the Budweiser red light. I have script running on another pi that checks the score and is currently setup to play audio through a speaker attached when my team scores a goal. What i am trying to do now is get this pi to communicate with the lights pi to trigger the light effect with it. I know on the lights pi i need to send

/storage/hyperion/bin/hyperion-remote.sh -e "Goal" -d "40000"

My question is how do i send that from the triggering pi?

I'm assuming i can just hit a web service link as I think thats how the chrome and android apps work.

Apologies if this is a simple answer, i'm still fairly new to this. Interaction designer by day, tinkerer/Connoisseur of many things by night.

• I think you should install sshpass and then the following command should work:

sshpass -p 'YourPassword' ssh user@host `/storage/hyperion/bin/hyperion-remote.sh -e "Goal" -d "40000"`

However I've never used sshpass by myself, so can't guarantee it's ok.

You can also add --print to your hyperion-remote command and the JSON result sent to the hyperion RPi via TCP should execute the desired effect.

• I'll have to give that a go, thanks!

• could you clarify the -a? I am uncertain how to communicate with the hyperion-remote on the other pi. I know it should be something simple and i feel i am right on the precipice of figuring this all out.