Using Hyperion to drive exterior lighting?

• Haven't seen any posts around this, and wanted to float this idea out to see if I am off my rocker or if this could work.

Here's what I want to do in the next couple of months:
    *string LED strips across the whole front of the house. Best guess is 5 x 5m strips. Thinking 36 leds/meter so I don't have TOO many LEDs. 60/m would be overkill on the exterior. That's still 900 independently controllable LEDs. APA102c.
    *to manage the power, power two strips (both ends of each) from one power supply, and another power supply on the other three strips (again, powering from both ends of all strips). The idea of two power supplies is to limit the length of the power lines.
    *Connect at one end to an RPi3 running Hyperion. I intend to configure it to have 0 lights on the bottom, left, and right, and 900 on the top. Obviously the point isn't for ambilight like around a tv, but just Hyperion effects or solid color.

I've got some experience here - 2 Hyperion setups around TVs through Mediaportal, so I think I know what I am getting in to. But what I really want to know is:
    *Can I run the data / clock from the Pi through a string this long?
    *Would Hyperion work with just a "top" defined (again, for effects only)
    *Is my plan reasonably sound, or is this just too much to do for one run and ought to be split up into independent sets? I'd really like to be able to do, say, the knight rider effect all the way across the house and not just a segment.

Any input would great great before I bite this project off!

Milhouse

• *Can I run the data / clock from the Pi through a string this long?

Might work. There is another forum ( http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/forum.php ) that would have better experience with long runs.

I came upon a post about ws2812's an long runs on the fast led user group. ( https://plus.google.com/+JasonCoon1/posts/EJsbqE3imgS ) might help as well.

Hope it helps.