WS2813 LEDs not working?

• Hi all,

Thank you for providing the project and this great community! Total noob here, I thought I had followed the official tutorial:
    (https://hyperion-project.org/t…mbilight-no-soldering.77/), however accidentally ended up with a set of 4-pin WS2813 LEDs instead (60/m, 184 total).

I can't get the LEDs to light up at all. No boot sequence, no single colours, no white, nothing.

I wired them up as per the diagram in the tutorial:
    https://hyperion-project.org/a…pattern-conn-mod-png.512/

I have the LEDs on GPIO pin 19 and 23 on the Pi as per the picture, ground is on pin 6 and going to external power supply (5V 10A). No arduino. No level shifter.

Raspberry Pi4, latest Raspbian OS. Have everything installed including Hyperion as a service. Can connect to the service via HyperCon.

I have selected the WS281X-SPI, but also tried other configurations. The config file gets sent via SSH correctly.

Where can I start to troubleshoot this? I am completely new to LEDs and have a very basic understanding of electronics. I have not yet seen the LEDs light up yet, so I'm not sure if the strip is malfunctioning.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thank you kindly in advance,

Robin

• Offizieller Beitrag

you should just first do your researches...why did you ordered the ws2813b?

do you know for what the GND BI DI and 5V stands?

• Hi TPmodding! Thanks so much for your reply. Like I said, I am relatively new to the topic, and have exhausted the forum search as well as Google before posting here, so I really appreciate you answering my thread :) It's understandable that hearing some basic questions like these can be a bit frustrating if you are already familiar with these projects.