Help Please - BTF-LIGHTING WS2815 with Pi4 12V

• Hi All,

I hope you are doing well and maybe willing to help me a bit please.

I am using WS2815 GRB LEDs 646 of them around my projection screen. I have a large 12V dedicated power supply (powering both ends of lights).

I am using a raspberry pi 4 (also powered by the PSU). I am using the latest version of Hyperion too. I am using GPIO 18.

My issues is that when the pi boots I get a solid (still) rainbow of color all almost all the way around, and there nothing more.

The lights say that way no matter what I try. The logs show it is communicating correctly, but no LED response.

Thank you for any kindness you can offer.

• Hello!

I think you'll need to share more detail on your setup for someone to help you troubleshoot, starting with your power setup. If you're running 12V straight the rPi4 - which is a 5V device - that's a big problem, and is dangerous.

I'm relatively new to Hyperion as well but will try to help if/where I can.

• (1) Raspberry Pi 4 Model B 2019 Quad Core 64 Bit WiFi Bluetooth (4GB)

(1) ALITOVE AC 110V/220V to DC 12V 30A 360W Universal Regulated Switching Power Supply Transformer Adapter LED Driver for LED Strip

(1) PlusRoc Waterproof 12V/24V to 5V Converter DC-DC Step Down Module Power Adapter (From PSU to Pi)

(3) BTF-LIGHTING WS2815 (Upgraded WS2812B) 16.4ft 300 Pixels Magic Dream Color Individually Addressable RGB LED Flexible Strip Light 5050 SMD Dual Signal IP30 Non-Waterproof DC12V Black PCB

Using PIN 12 (GPIO 18) for data and PIN 6 for ground.

• Thanks!

I figured you had to be stepping down voltage for the Pi to even be running but wanted to confirm :)

Given all this, I think the power/wiring is likely fine but I am curious if you have a level shifter in place to step up the data voltage? If you're seeing the startup rainbow it may not be necessary but generally a good idea, at least for 5V setups.