Question about a first installation

• Hello everyone :)

I am interested in creating a DIY Ambilight system, to use on my television. I have a 55" 4K QLED TV from Hisense, with a Fire Stick 4K MAX from Amazon.

I understand how the DIY system works with the power supply, Grabber HDMI... but I have a question.

I saw that Hyperion is normally used on a Raspberry PI, but that there is a version for Windows. My computer is located close to my television, is it possible to run the Hyperion server on my computer (Windows), without using a Raspberry? I am aware that the computer will need to be powered on with the Hyperion server running for the ambilight to work, but I want to be sure before I start spending money on the different components.

I only want to use ambilight on my FireStick (Plex), so only one HDMI source.

Thank you for your answers, I know my question may seem stupid but I am a noob in ambilight.

Sorry for my English, I'm French. ^^

Good day!

• Offizieller Beitrag

You don't need RPI if Hyperion is running on your PC.

A controller for the LED e.g. ESP32 and as you already wrote, power supply, LED, splitter and grabber.

regards pclin

Dreambox ONE / TWO

dreamOS OE2.6

Amlogic S922X - 53.000 DMIPS - 2 GB RAM - 16 GB Flash - Twin-DVB-S2X Tuner - HDR10 - HLG
    -
    AudioDSP: miniDSP 2x4HD - Amp: Pentagon - Lautsprecher ELAC / ARENDAL
    LG OLED65BX9LB (PicCap, hyperion.NG webOS)

FireTV 4K max

-
    hyperion (classic) & Plugin HyperionControl | hyperion-ng 2.0.16-beta.1 (dreamOS)
    Hyperion-ng (Debian bullseye)
    -
    6 x ESP32/Wemos D1 mini - WLED - SK6812 RGBW-NW 60 LEDs/m
    FeinTech VSP01201 - Grabber Macrosilicon

LG TV Hyperion webOS & PicCap

snoozer_likelinux_manvtkns.gif

Ambilight for ever

• Hi pclin , thank you for your response.

Great, I'm happy that it's possible without Raspberry, the assembly will be less expensive :thumbup: