Need help with a prebuilt controller

• Hi,

I bought a LED controller like the one below. I've setup my brand new pi zero with hyperbian and got everything ready (hdmi switch -> hdmi splitter -> hdmi grabber -> pi zero -> chinese controller -> ws2812b ) but my problem is that the LEDs only light for half a second and then they stay off. They go red, green and blue once and that's it. The video grabber is working as I can see the live feed from the web configuration of hyperbian. From the very slim documentation that came with the chinese controller it would seem to indicate it runs adalight but that's my best guess.

I'd appreciate any help to troubleshoot this.

wVgu2bq.png

• Okay thanks for the answer , I'll try to build it with an arduino or a wemos, if you have a tutorial for me I'll happily follow it (I'm really new to the world of raspberry and arduino). Could I solder the led stripe directly to the Pi zero GPio ? Also I might have to change the power supply I'm using, the chinese gave me a 5V 5A for 220 LEDs and from what I gathered I'll need something with more amps.

• Could I solder the led stripe directly to the Pi zero GPio ?

yes you can do that, some ledstrips dont need a Logic level shifter others do directly connected to a Raspi.

if you provide a steady/clean and powerfull DC voltage+current to the ledstrip then most of the times you can directly connect to GPIO.

it also depends on what MCU u are going to use, if its running only on +3.3 volts ( when data to ledstrip needs at least 3.5) then you are certain most of times to use a level shifter anyways.

there's a schematics that you can follow can be found here on the forum.

schematics is made by TPmodding and myself.

Einmal editiert, zuletzt von TPmodding () aus folgendem Grund: Ein Beitrag von Lighting-guy77 mit diesem Beitrag zusammengefügt.