Controlling WS2812B led stripe directly on pc for backlight

• Hello everyone.

I'm relatively new to working with led stripes at all, but every tutorial i see online uses a raspberry as a controller for the led stripe. Is it possible to control a ws2812b using a more humble controller like a ESP32 or ESP8266, directly connected to a usb port?

I want to create ambient light for the same pc hosting hyperion, so I believe there must be a less overkill way to do it than using a rasperry pi. Is that the case?

Thanks.

• Offizieller Beitrag

ESP32 with WLED software can control the LED via LAN/WLAN or via USB (limited Baudrate).

Hyperion can then be operated on your PC, you don't need an RPI for this.

I run Hyperion on LG TV, Dreambox TWO and PC. The ESP's are controlled via LAN or WLAN and can therefore be easily controlled by Hyperion from any device.

regards pclin

• How slow of a baudrate? monitor refresh rate is 144hz and and would like it to be maybe not that fast but still decent...

Would it improve if using ethernet? Not sure if its viable in my case since i got wired internet and only 1 ethernet socket.

So if i understood correctly, in order for hyperion to work with the ESP32 controlled ws2812b stripe , i need to install WLED software in the esp32?

Thanks for the help.

• Offizieller Beitrag

WS2812b requires 800000 ESP default 112500 (screenshot), there are also options to achieve 800000 via USB.

Wifi delay is about 5 ms, LAN 0.5 ms, so usually not a problem.

If you only have one LAN connection, you would have to use a switch so that you get more connections.

The refresh rate of your monitor is independent of this, it is always a question of the grabber as to what is possible with it.

WLED on the ESP is a very good solution with many options and works easily with Hyperion.

regards pclin

• sorry, still pretty new to this and these concepts are really blurry...