More than 255 leds?

• Going to try a fresh install of each OS and Hyperion to see if anything changes, is there any way to emulate the bitstream into the Arduino to see if it is the Pi that isn't doing it's job? I've also tried communication through UART but someone might know a better way (I hope). I also have a Teensy 2.0 and 3.1 at my disposal but wasn't sure how to implement them. Looked at getting an Octows2811 and splitting the 392 into 4 strings of 98 but am not 100% sure how to go bout this, the hardware side is fine its the software side that i need to improve upon. I know there is a modified Ambibox capable of running 400 Leds but since seeing it I can no longer find it!

• Just remembered! I read a while ago that Penfold42 made a custom ws2801 to 2812 protocol converter, if he wouldn't mind sharing details i would easily give building one a go if it meant i could get this working. I worked as an Electronics Engineer for 5 years so the assembling part of the circuit wouldn't be an issue, it's usually the software side i'd need help with. I've only just broken into this side and I'm pretty much self taught so I know that I might not have the right info, it would be nice to be kept right.

• OK. one as i said above and started with a fresh install and done some testing, heres what i found;

OSMC and Arduino sketch using Pin 51 (MOSI) (config file edited to match Baud rates etc.)
    Baud Rate=from 115200 to 460800 tried - Rx Light=ON - Arduino Intro plays=Yes (but only on fresh startup) - Lights respond=No

OSMC with Arduino Ambilight sketch inc Prefix
    Baud rate-115200 - Rx Light on - Arduino Intro plays=Yes (but only on fresh startup) - Lights Respond No
    Initially tested with PWM pin 6, then 10

I then tried each PWM pin on the Mega and FINALLY got the lights working on Pin 2.
    If Hyperion is stopped and restarted via SSH the lights will no longer respond until the Pi is rebooted