Output color determination algorithm

• I just saw a real nice article at Hackaday.com discussing a method and implementation for determining the perceived dominant color in an image. In a quick search I could not clearly find what algorithm/logic Hyperion is currently using to determine the output color(s); though it does a great job. Not necessarily a meant as an improvement, but this article might bring some inspiration for future development.
    When someone can point me to the code/algorithm used by Hyperion; I'd love to get to know more about it --> someday I will probably build a FPGA based setup (I'm a FPGA/VHDL developer by daylight).

edit: just found some extra info in the linked articles about the Hue camera app

2 Mal editiert, zuletzt von René Arts ()

• here my approch.
    [MEDIA=pastebin]E05dA4Un[/MEDIA]
    replace imagetoleds.h with my file. I recommended to enable smoothing, because we cant calculatate over more than one frame asa suggested in the article.

Perhaps I did domething wrong or sombody can make it better .....

edit:
    switch back to partSize=16 and in line 226 the "C" from 0.2 to 1.0
    added ignore partion 0, for some reason all "none important colors" will be co8unt there. (it increases to much). Todo so change in line 233 i=0 to i=1

now I get OK results - watching "big buck bunny" lokks good. watching "star trek horizon" is mostly OK but somtimes the color switches to fast between to diferent colors.

mybest smooting settings so far for that: time: 600, frq: 24, delay: 0

Einmal editiert, zuletzt von redPanther ()

• I tested another thing. avarage over whole pic. transform resulting color to HSL space. then limit L in range 0.4-0.6 and set S to 1, then transform back to RGB spce. This looks quite nice. With smoothing I can adjust how jumpy the whole thing is